Why Blog?

Why, indeed, blog? How much more writing can one Internet take?

The short answer, at least in my book, is that free speech is becoming more perilous. More groups want to ban any comment that offends their sensibilities. Since we went down the road of recognising groups, we’ve created a situation where men and women are mostly afraid to speak out in public.

We are entitled to speak our minds. We need but a press to publish with. A blog does that very nicely.

Whether my opinions are of any interest to anyone remains to be seen. But they are of interest to me. Couldn’t that serve as reason enough to make them public?

I don’t pretend to be some sort of faux-reporter. Expect what you read here to be items about which I have become passionate, if only for a while. Think of this as an editorial with a mandate to write about anything today that might provoke a response, and we’ll get along just fine.

My commitment to you: I shall endeavour to be accurate within the limits of my knowledge, I shall try not to give unnecessary offence (while being sure to give necessary offence as needed), and I shall do my best to be critical of the situation more than of the person, unless the person is the situation in need of a good airing.

But I also warn that fairness does not require me to write in a wishy-washy fashion, playing the “on the one hand, and on the other hand” game. To not take a position is to really let myself down.

I do hope you find this entertaining, thought-provoking and perhaps even something that occasionally alters the trajectory of your life.

I look forward to our conversations.

3 responses to “Why Blog?

  1. I’m waiting for you to put in the meta wideget for getting your RSS feed! Looking forward so much to your new blog. What a great photo at the top! I want to step right in to the picture.

    Madame Monet
    Writing, Painting, Music, and Wine
    winewriter.wordpress.com

  2. Good to hear of your commitment to yourself, ha.

    We need all the sensible and responsible ones we can get out here in the blogosphere.

    I started a blog for the first time in Dec.of last year. It is fun to take part in free speech and open up to the world of diversity one can find on the Internet. I like how WordPress offers so much control over spam and comments.

    Good blogging to you.

  3. According to ProBlogger, you need to meet your own needs in blogging at least as much as you try to meet the needs of your audience, or you get burned out. I think all of us write about issues on our own blogs that interest US as much as they hopefully interest others.

    I got your RSS feed now, but could you also put on the feed for RSS COMMENTS? (I recently discovered that this saves readers a lot of time, especially for thos e of us who are folowing a lot of blogs.)

    Madame Monet
    Writing, Painting, Music, and Wine
    winewriter.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

